• rotator-1.jpg
  • rotator-2.jpg
  • rotator-3.jpg
  • rotator-4.jpg
  • rotator-5.jpg
  • rotator-6.jpg
  • rotator-7.jpg
  • rotator-8.jpg
  • rotator-9.jpg
  • rotator-10.jpg
  • rotator-11.jpg
  • rotator-12.jpg
  • rotator-13.jpg
  • rotator-14.jpg
  • rotator-15.jpg

The TO/LR Award is the highest Take-Off to Landing Ratio Award. One of a pilot’s biggest goals is to have the number of take-offs equal the number of landings. There is however that special breed of pilot that is an over achiever, an individual that refuses to let the plane go home in the same condition it left. This award recognizes the pilot that has best demonstrated this skill during the year and repeatedly validated the laws of gravity.



This year's "winner" is Keith Pierce (below left). Keith will have the distinct pleasure of being able to name next year's winner. Congratulations Keith.   


Past Recipients

2020 - no award
2019 - Rob Sparkes
2018 - Chris Knott
2017 - Robert Dicks
2016 - Steve Boulos
2015 - Bill Munroe
2014 - Jack Graham (yes, he gave it to himself)
2013 - Jack Graham
2012 - Steve Boulos
2011 - Dave Mercer
2010 - Don Wyatt
2009 - Jack Graham
2008 - Craig Trickett
2007 - Justyn Critch
2006 - Pete Rozee
2005 - Mike Middlekoop
2004 - no award
2003 - James Woolridge
2002 - Matthew Newhook
2001 - Craig Trickett



Membership offers several benefits such as access to a safe flying field, flight training with experienced instructors and the assistance of fellow members to help with building, maintenance and other questions. 

Annual membership fees help cover our basic costs such as field development, maintenance and other essentials to keep the club going. Our membership year runs from April 1 to March 31.

The annual fees are:

Open member (18 or older): $75.00 

Junior member (under 18): $37.50   

Click below to download the application form for club membership in Adobe format. If you don't have the Adobe reader, click the Adobe icon below to download it from their website. 

Membership Application (opens in a new window)    

Once downloaded, print off the form and complete it by hand. For further information and payment options, contact the club president via email at: president@sjrcf.ca  

To see a list of the current members, click here.

Our primary flying site is the club field on the Witless Bay Line acquired in 2013 and developed in 2014-15. Several times throughout the year, we also fly from the paved airstrip on Bell Island and the historic grass airstrip in Harbour Grace.

The first map below shows an overview of the St. John's area to give you an idea where our field is located. The second map zooms in a little closer and the third pinpoints the exact location. 

Keep our flying field clean! Take your garbage with you when you leave.

Take the TCH out of St. John's to the Witless Bay Line off ramp, exit 37. Continue on the Witless Bay Line 4.5 km. The field entrance is on the left. Follow the dirt road that runs parallel with the highway until you reach the parking area. 


Click here for more information and pictures of the field.